The DIES ProGRANT Multiplication Training is currently underway at the University Conference Hall.

The training is part of the ProGRANT project within the Dialogue on Innovative Higher Education Strategies (DIES) program of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), represented by the DAAD Nairobi Office Regional Expert, Prof. Joy Obando, and the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK). It is funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

The aim of the training is to support ProGRANT Alumni in developing their own proposal writing seminars to train other young researchers in applying for national and international research funding.

Speaking on behalf of the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Mucai Muchiri, the Acting Vice Chancellor, Prof. Peninah Aloo-Obudho said that the training will strengthen the capacity of participants to develop high impact proposals to win grants, equipment and other relevant research facilities. Additionally, the training will strengthen collaboration among researchers for the purposes of improving research production and output.

In view of the fact that universities are a source of knowledge and innovative thinking, the Acting Vice Chancellor urged the universities represented in the training to establish Communities of Practice to revolutionize knowledge production. She noted that universities around the world continue to grapple with the challenge of dwindling finances. There was, therefore, need for these institutions to focus on grant proposal writing so as to attract funds to enable generation of knowledge.

According to the Director, Resource Mobilization and International Programmes, Dr. Kellen Kiambati, Karatina University has received funding from German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) to conduct the DIES ProGRANT Multiplication Training (PMT) in three phases. The current On-site seminar, which started today, Monday, 29th August 2022 and is expected to end on Thursday, 1st September 2022, follows two previous virtual seminars which have been taking place since June 2022.

Participating universities in this project are from Kenya: Karatina University, Kenyatta University, Taita Taveta University, Mt. Kenya University, Kibabii University, South Eastern University of Kenya, Chuka University, KCA University and Technical University of Mombasa. From Uganda: Kyambogo University, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Lira University and Uganda Martyrs University. From Tanzania: Mzumbe University, Arusha Technical College, University of Dodoma, Mbeya University, Mtwara University College and St. John’s University of Tanzania.